Submit ZIP Code

Got a Quick Question?

(120 characters remaining)
100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Will the district attorney press charges against me?

When are they going to decide to charge me with a crime? I was arrested 3 weeks ago and nothing has happened! Is there a time limit? It was for shoplifting and it was only about $100 worth of merchandise from Target. Please help. Thank you.

Click here to get answers from a local criminal defense attorney
    David Akulian | Not Guilty In DC
    10 G St. NE #710
    Washington, DC 20002
    (800) 408-0919
    D.C. has two prosecuting agencies; the U.S. Attorney and the Attorney General. The U.S. Atty is the agency that will deal with this issue. They have up to 3 years from the time of the arrest to decide to charge you. However, this decision is usually made within the first month or two and then you get a judicial summons in the mail. If you fail to appear for that summons, the Court will often issue a bench warrant.
    Answer Applies to: District of Columbia - Replied: 3/23/2013
    Lawrence Lewis, PC | Lawrence Lewis
    242 Culver Street, Suite103
    Lawrenceville, GA 30045
    (678) 407-9300
    Yes, there is a time limit. It is about 3 years. Nothing happens after three weeks. If you are impatient, then do not commit crime. You need it to move faster, then retain an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia - Replied: 3/23/2013
    Peter Goldscheider | Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    438 Cambridge Ave. Suite 250
    Palo Alto, CA 94306
    (650) 323-8296
    You should have been given a court date either by citation or if you were released by the jail. If not you may be notified by mail. Otherwise you should contact the correct court to check with them. Or you can retain an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 3/23/2013
    Terry Nelson | Nelson & Lawless
    2134 Main St., #130
    Huntington Beach, CA 92648
    (714) 960-7584
    They have a year to file charges, and you'll just have to wait to see if they do.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 3/22/2013
    Francis John Cowhig | Universal Law Group, Inc.
    430 S. Garfield Avenue
    Alhambra, CA 91801
    (626) 308-9936
    The D.A. has up to a year to file misdemeanor charges and 3 years to file felony charges. From your question, it sounds like you would be facing a misdemeanor charge. All you can do is wait for the statute of limitation to expire.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 3/22/2013
Click to View More Answers:
1 2
Can't find the question you're looking for? Ask it?
Need personalized legal advice right now? Connect!

Disclaimer: The responses above do not form an attorney-client relationship. These answers may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Total Criminal Defense does not make any representation as to the expertise or qualifications of this attorney. These attorneys may or may not be admitted to state bar of your state.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.