Submit ZIP Code

Got a Quick Question?

(120 characters remaining)
100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

What will happen after a first time shoplifting charge?

It was the first time that I tried to steal somethings from a retail store. The officer found me and gave me the letter for waiting to go to the court. Please give me some information because it was my first time.


Click here to get answers from a local criminal defense attorney
    Eric Sterkenburg | Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    16478 Beach Boulevard, No. 329
    Westminster, CA 92683
    (562) 477-6940
    Shoplifting items of a value of less than $950.00 is petty theft. Petty theft can be charged as an infraction if the amount stolen is worth $50.00 or less. If over $50.00 but less than $950.00 it is charged as a misdemeanor. However If you have three or more priors for petty theft, the next one can be a felony or a misdemeanor. Infractions are punished by a fine. Misdemeanors are punished by up to one year in the county jail and/or up to a $1,000.00 fine. Felonies are punished by sixteen months, two years, or three years in state prison. The normal punishment for first time petty theft is three years summary probation, a fine, community service, theft classes, and restitution to the victim. Second or third convictions for petty theft normally are the same as for a first conviction. However, it is not unlikely to receive up to 90 days in county jail for the additional convictions. This all depends on the facts of the case.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 4/14/2014
    Peter Goldscheider | Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    438 Cambridge Ave. Suite 250
    Palo Alto, CA 94306
    (650) 323-8296
    Since a theft conviction is detrimental to your record in many respects, in part because it is considered a crime of "moral turpitude" you might want to retain an attorney now to attempt to negotiate with the store as to a possible civil compromise of the criminal charge. The store might not do that as many have a practice of strictly prosecuting shoplifting cases. In any case you should get an attorney. The maximum for the charge is 6 months in jail and while that is very unlikely for a first offense it is the conviction not the penalty with which you should be concerned.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 4/11/2014
    Jeff Yeh | Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    3810 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1110
    Los Angeles, CA 90010
    (213) 446-2495
    Petty theft is a crime of moral turpitude, and if convicted you can kiss your career aspirations goodbye. Hire a lawyer before you get duped into a plea you will regret for life.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 4/10/2014
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    39300 Civic Center Drive #110
    Fremont, CA 94538
    (510) 792-5110
    I cannot be very specific because each court in each county may be different. Some allow diversion programs, others allow pleas to infractions and others are less willing to reduce charges. You should consult a lawyer in the county where you live.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 4/10/2014
Click to View More Answers:
1
Can't find the question you're looking for? Ask it?
Need personalized legal advice right now? Connect!

Disclaimer: The responses above do not form an attorney-client relationship. These answers may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Total Criminal Defense does not make any representation as to the expertise or qualifications of this attorney. These attorneys may or may not be admitted to state bar of your state.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.