Submit ZIP Code

Got a Quick Question?

(120 characters remaining)
100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

What is the sentence going to be for first offense shop lifting under $500?

I got busted for taking a few things from a store. It was the first time I'd got caught so my record was clean before. The item total was under 500 bucks so it wasn't outrageous but not like just a pack of gum. Can I get jail time or just a fine or something?


Click here to get answers from a local criminal defense attorney
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    5005 Lapeer Rd
    Burton, MI 48509
    (810) 743-2960
    Plead not guilty. Get a lawyer. Maybe something can be worked out where you end up with no record. This is huge. A criminal record is FOREVER. What employer wants to hire a thief?
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 1/17/2013
    William L. Welch, III | William L. Welch, III Attorney
    111 South Calvert Street
    Baltimore, MD 21045
    (410) 385-5630
    The maximum would be either 90 days or 18 months in jail, depending on how it is charged. Ultimately, sentencing depends on the seriousness of the offense, mitigation, allocation, and the judge. Consider also that even if you are not put in jail, you might have a permanent criminal record. That might affect whether employers, landlords, and lenders would even do business with you in the future. You should seek a confidential consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland - Replied: 1/17/2013
    John Toivonen | Toivonen Law Office
    PO Box 15174
    Lansing, MI 48933
    (517) 402-5229
    Retail fraud of less than $1,000 carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail. Most people do not do the maximum. The judge will take into account your previous criminal history.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 1/15/2013
    Francis John Cowhig | Universal Law Group, Inc.
    430 S. Garfield Avenue
    Alhambra, CA 91801
    (626) 308-9936
    Depending on the amount allegedly stolen and the jurisdiction where the event occurred, shoplifting can be met with a mere citation (infraction), or charged as a misdemeanor or even a felony, with possible jail sentences of 6 months to 3 years. It will be up to the D.A. to determine how the crime will be charged. You should hire an attorney prior to your court date, or if cannot afford one ask the court to appoint a public defender to represent you.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 1/14/2013
    Craig Andersen | Andersen Law PLLC
    10000 NE 7th Ave Suite 330B
    Vancouver, WA 98685
    (360) 397-0111
    It is possible but more likey you will get probation.
    Answer Applies to: Washington - Replied: 1/14/2013
Click to View More Answers:
1 2 3
Can't find the question you're looking for? Ask it?
Need personalized legal advice right now? Connect!

Disclaimer: The responses above do not form an attorney-client relationship. These answers may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Total Criminal Defense does not make any representation as to the expertise or qualifications of this attorney. These attorneys may or may not be admitted to state bar of your state.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.