Submit ZIP Code

Got a Quick Question?

(120 characters remaining)
100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

I got drunk driving charges in Michigan what should I do?

First time I ever got in trouble. Not even speeding tickets before. Pulled me over because he said I swerved, then I failed sobriety test and the breath test. I got out of jail this morning. What kind of punishment am I looking at?


Click here to get answers from a local criminal defense attorney
    Jared Austin | Austin Legal Services, PLC
    909 N. Washington Ave.
    Lansing, MI 48906
    (517) 614-1983
    Michigan treats drunk driving very seriously, even for first time offenders. You are looking at up to 93 days in jail, one year probation, fines of $500 plus court costs and costs of prosecution and reimbursement to the police, six points on your driving record, $2,000 in driver responsibility fees, and possible vehicle immobilization or impound. Not to mention the collateral costs such as higher insurance premiums and possibly effecting your career, job, or schooling. A good DUI attorney will more than pay for himself in what he can potentially save you. It would be a wise investment.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 3/5/2013
    William A. Siebert | William A. Siebert
    740 N. Silverleaf St
    Gladwin, MI 48624
    (989) 426-3559
    $1000 in fines, costs, and attorneys fees, plus 90 days limited driving (to and from work, school, the doctor, and anywhere the Court sends you as a condition of your probation).
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 3/4/2013
    Cindy Mannon | Cindy Mannon
    1801 EAST SAGINAW ST
    Lansing, MI 48912
    (517) 482-1000
    Not knowing what your bac limit is, hard to tell. There is no standard answer even if I knew because different counties, different judges, do things differently. I would contact a local attorney in your county because you should have representation. Sometimes I have been able to plead a case down to reckless driving, which means 6 points on your driving record and no driving privileges at all for 90 days. Fines and costs and payment to Treasury of $500 for two years. An impaired comes with 4 points, perhaps probation and a restricted driver's license for 3 months. Fines and costs and payment to Treasury of $500 for two years. An OWI comes with 6 points, no driver's license for one month, then restricted for 5 additional months, probation, perhaps alcohol classes, random pbt tests. Fines costs and payment to Treasury for $1000 for two years. A superdrunk comes with no license for at least 45 days and then a license with an interlock. More fines, more costs, more probation, more alcohol classes and counseling.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 3/4/2013
    Steven Dodge | Steven Dodge
    7960 W. Grand River Ave.
    Brighton, MI 48114
    (810) 220-3916
    A first offense OWI carries a maximum penalty of 93 days in jail, 6 points on your driving record, a six month license suspension and various fees and costs. Generally speaking, first offenders are not locked up. However, there are exceptions to this based on how high your BAC was and who happens to be the assigned judge.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 3/4/2013
    John F Brennan | Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    24001 Greater Mack
    St Clair Shores, MI 48080
    (586) 778-0900
    You will need an attorney, and hopefully you will be able to minimize the damage which you caused yourself. You are facing driver responsibility costs, fines, potential jail time and suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 3/4/2013
Click to View More Answers:
1 2
Can't find the question you're looking for? Ask it?
Need personalized legal advice right now? Connect!

Disclaimer: The responses above do not form an attorney-client relationship. These answers may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Total Criminal Defense does not make any representation as to the expertise or qualifications of this attorney. These attorneys may or may not be admitted to state bar of your state.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.