Submit ZIP Code

Got a Quick Question?

(120 characters remaining)
100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

How many years will I get if I took a lady’s purse but didn’t hurt her?

I just took her purse when she had it on the top of her car. I didn't touch her or nothing. They caught me with her card and some cash but how can they prove that was her money. I didn't touch her. How many months will I get if I am guilty?


Click here to get answers from a local criminal defense attorney
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    5005 Lapeer Rd
    Burton, MI 48509
    (810) 743-2960
    Well that depends on the facts, the charge and your prior record. Without those things I can't answer this.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan - Replied: 1/5/2013
    Ross Scaccia | Ross Scaccia Attorney at Law
    PO Box 2692
    Mandeville, LA 70470
    (504) 458-1533
    Since you didn't take it from her person, what you did is theft theft is punishable by jail time depending on the value of what you took theft under $100.00 is a misdemeanor. 100.00 to 500.00 is a felony and theft over 500.00 is a felony for which one can received up to 10 years.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana - Replied: 1/4/2013
    Jared C. Winter | Law Office of Jared C. Winter
    385 Grand Avenue
    Oakland, CA 94610
    (510) 903-8090
    There are a variety of charges you could face, depending on more details. They could include (in order of most serious to least) robbery, grand theft person, petty theft, possession of stolen property. You need an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 1/3/2013
    Michael E. Dailey | Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    922 Oak Street
    Kansas City, MO 64106
    (816) 221-7008
    What makes you think a strong arm robbery,( the most likely charge to be filed) will only be a matter of months?
    Answer Applies to: Missouri - Replied: 1/3/2013
    Eric Sterkenburg | Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    16478 Beach Boulevard, No. 329
    Westminster, CA 92683
    (562) 477-6940
    In resisting the store's loss prevention officer you have turned a petty theft into a second degree robbery. Robbery of the second degree is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or five years.
    Answer Applies to: California - Replied: 1/3/2013
Click to View More Answers:
1 2 3 4
Can't find the question you're looking for? Ask it?
Need personalized legal advice right now? Connect!

Disclaimer: The responses above do not form an attorney-client relationship. These answers may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Total Criminal Defense does not make any representation as to the expertise or qualifications of this attorney. These attorneys may or may not be admitted to state bar of your state.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.