Submit ZIP Code

Got a Quick Question?

(120 characters remaining)
100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Does age play a role in expungement of a drug charge?

I'm currently 23 years old, with two drug charges on my record. One charge is for the possession of marijuana, the other charge is for the intent to distribute. I don't want these two charges to effect the rest of my life. I've heard that age can play a role in expungement, and I want to know if this is true. Can I get a charge expunged if I meet a certain age requirement?

Click here to get answers from a local criminal defense attorney
    Christopher G Humphrey | Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC
    P.O. Box 4216
    Cheyenne, WY 82003
    (307) 222-2448
    If you are 17 or younger there is a different statute in expungement. You may be able to expunge the possession if you were under 18, but that possession with intent to distribute may not be expunge-able. Contact an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Wyoming - Replied: 4/10/2013
    Craig Andersen | Andersen Law PLLC
    10000 NE 7th Ave Suite 330B
    Vancouver, WA 98685
    (360) 397-0111
    Age doesn't enter into the analysis. The key issue is the passage of time following conviction and completion of all legal and financial obligations flowing from the conviction. Felonies in Washington are ranked in order from C to A with A being the some serious felony. For B and C felonies, a conviction may be vacated and dismissed in 10 years and 5 years respectively. In your case, you would need to complete your community custody, pay your fines and stay out of trouble for five years to be eligible to vacate and dismiss the charges.
    Answer Applies to: Washington - Replied: 4/10/2013
    Mel Dunn | Mel Dunn
    100 N. Center
    Casper, WY 82601
    (307) 267-7758
    Were the convictions misdemeanors or felonies?
    Answer Applies to: Wyoming - Replied: 4/10/2013
    Randy M. Lish | Randy M. Lish, Attorney at Law
    2155 N. Freedom Blvd.
    Provo, UT 84604
    (801) 235-9400
    In Utah, age is not mentioned in the statute regarding expungment. For a misdemeanor, you must wait three years after the termination of probation, whether court probation or supervised, before filing a petition to expunge. Felonies are longer, depending on the statute under which you were convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Utah - Replied: 4/10/2013
Click to View More Answers:
Can't find the question you're looking for? Ask it?
Need personalized legal advice right now? Connect!

Disclaimer: The responses above do not form an attorney-client relationship. These answers may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice. Total Criminal Defense does not make any representation as to the expertise or qualifications of this attorney. These attorneys may or may not be admitted to state bar of your state.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.